Australian Biokingdom

This BioKingdom basically comprises all of the continent of Australia. It is the smallest and most isolated of the world’s continents and supports at least 18 endemic families of vascular plants.


Northeastern Australian BioRegion

This large, varied BioRegion comprises northern, eastern and some southeastern parts of Australia together with adjacent coastal islands including Tasmania. The rich flora comprises about 150 endemic genera and at least seven endemic families (Akaniaceae, Austrobaileyaceae, Davidsoniaceae, Doryanthaceae, Idiospermaceae, Platyzomataceae and Tetracarpaeaceae). Within this BioRegion the following four bioprovinces are recognised:

Northern Australian Queenslandian Southeast Australian Tasmanian


Southwest Australian BioRegion

This relatively small BioRegion includes the Darling and Sterling ranges and all the coastlands from the Edel Peninsula south to approximately midway between the cities of Esperance and Eyre in the east. The area contains about 125 endemic plant genera and four endemic families (Cephalalotaceae, Emblingiaceae, Eremosynaceae and Stylobasiaceae). The following bioprovince is recognised:

Southwest Australian


Eremaean (Central Australian) BioRegion

Extending from the drier parts of the western Australian coast around Shark’s Bay to Darling River in New South Wales, this BioRegion includes the Great Sandy Desert, the Gibson Desert, the Great Victoria Desert, the Nullarbor Plain, most of the state of South Australia, the deserts of the Northern Territory and a large part of the Great Artesian Basin. The flora includes about 85 endemic genera but there are no endemic families. The following bioprovince is recognised: