Eastern European BioProvince

This BioProvince (as defined by Armen Takhtajan) includes the eastern parts of the Baltic republics, most of Belorussia (except some western parts), most of the Ukrain (except the southwestern part of southern Crimea) and the lower Danube Lowlands. In the north it extends to the conifer forests of the Northern European BioProvince and in the south it extends to the northern shores of the Black Sea (except for the southern shore of the Crimea) and includes the northern and eastern shores of the Sea of Azov. In the southeast it extends to the River Volga, but further north it stretches as far as the southern Ural Mountains. The geology is hugely varied and complex giving rise to a variety of landscapes, while the climate can be generally described a continental with heavy snow in winter and hot summers. The Black Sea includes two of the largest deltas in the World. The Danube Delta is the second largest delta in Europe, after the Volga Delta, and the Danube Delta Biosphere Reserve is the largest wetland reserve in Europe. However, despite the huge size of this BioProvince, the flora has only one endemic genus (Cymbochasma) but there are many endemic species and subspecies.

The following accounts for this BioProvince have been written or will be written with particular reference to endemic and locally important species. Accounts available are displayed in green or yellow. Those displayed in red are either in the pipeline or awaiting expert contributions.


Major Ecosystems
Endemic Vascular Plant Flora
Bryophyte Flora
Fungus Flora
Lichen Flora
Invertebrate Fauna
Amphibian Fauna
Reptile Fauna
Bird Fauna
Mammal Fauna
Conservation Status