Liguro-Tyrrhenian BioProvince

This BioProvince (as defined by Armen Takhtajan) includes the shores of the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Seas, the peninsula of Calabria, the Tuscan Archipelago, Corsica, Malta, Sardinia, Sicily, the Lipari Islands, the Egadi Islands, the islands of Lampedosa and Lampione and Pantelleria Island. The geology is complex but the Ligurian Alps includes the so-called paleokarst of the late Triassic-early Jurassic period. The Mediterranean, maritime climate includes heavy and frequent precipitation especially in winter but the annual temperature range is relatively narrow. There are at least 1000 endemic species and two genera endemic to Italy (Lereschia and Petagnaea).

The following accounts for this BioProvince have been written or will be written with particular reference to endemic and locally important species. Accounts available are displayed in green or yellow. Those displayed in red are either in the pipeline or awaiting expert contributions.


Major Ecosystems
Endemic Vascular Plant Flora
Endemic Flora (Sardinia)
Endemic Flora (Sicily)
Endemic Flora (Malta)
Bryophyte Flora
Fungus Flora
Lichen Flora
Invertebrate Fauna
Amphibian Fauna
Reptile Fauna
Bird Fauna
Mammal Fauna
Conservation Status