Comoran BioProvince

In addition to the volcanic Comoro Islands (Ngazidja (Grande Comore), Mwali (Moheli), Nzwani (Anjouan), and Mayotte) this BioProvince (as defined by Armen Takhtajan) includes the coralline Aldabra Islands together with several other west Indian Ocean islands including Cosmoledo, Fauquhar, Glorieusa and Providence. Among the coralline islands are low-lying islands such as Bird Island and high limestone islands like Aldabra. However, it is probable that many of the coralline islands owe their existance to volcanic activity and often have basaltic basements less than 1 km below the surface. Several of the larger islands are atolls, and in fact, Aldabra is the largest atoll in the World covering some 350 square kms. All these islands experience a humid tropical climate but can have extended dry seasons. The mean length of dry season in the Aldabra group is eight months but this area can also experience extreme draughts lasting up to 12 months and is occasionally impacted by tropical cyclones. The flora has much in common with Madagascar but there are about 136 endemic species on the Comoro Islands alone. Of the 176 native vascular plants on Aldabra 42 (25%) are endemic.

The following accounts for this BioProvince have been written or will be written with particular reference to endemic and locally important species. Accounts available are displayed in green or yellow. Those displayed in red are either in the pipeline or awaiting expert contributions.


Major Ecosystems
Endemic Flora (Aldabra)
Bryophyte Flora
Fungus Flora
Lichen Flora
Invertebrate Fauna
Amphibian Fauna
Reptile Fauna
Bird Fauna
Mammal Fauna
Conservation Status