Congolian BioProvince

This BioProvince (as defined by Armen Takhtajan) includes the Congo Basin, eastern Nigeria, eastern Cameroon and the islands of the Gulf of Guinea (including Annobón, Bioko, Príncipe and São Tomé). The Congo Basin largely comprises Mesozoic and Quaternary sediments while Precambrian metamorphosed sediments and Proterozoic platform sediments occur in the east and Dolomites and Neoproterozoic sediments in the southeast. Straddling the equator this area is subject to a tropically hot and humid climate. The flora of this vast BioProvince is very rich with many endemic genera and species, and includes several local centres of endemism. The Virunga Volcanoes and Mount Ruwenzori support rich montane and afroalpine floras, while the flora of the Cameroon Mountains and Bamenda Highlands has affinities with the mountains of East Africa and Europe.

The following accounts for this BioProvince have been written or will be written with particular reference to endemic and locally important species. Accounts available are displayed in green or yellow. Those displayed in red are either in the pipeline or awaiting expert contributions.


Major Ecosystems
Endemic Vascular Plant Flora
Endemic Flora São Tomé and Príncipe
Bryophyte Flora
Fungus Flora
Lichen Flora
Invertebrate Fauna
Amphibian Fauna
Reptile Fauna
Bird Fauna
Mammal Fauna
Conservation Status


Impatiens congolensis (Balsaminaceae) a colourful parrot-billed balsam native to tropical West-Central Africa (Copyright © 2010 Peter Martin Rhind).