Micronesian BioProvince

This BioProvince (as defined by Armen Takhtajan) includes the Pacific zone known as Micronesia comprising the Caroline Islands (including Palau and Pohnpei), Mariana Islands (including Guam), Marshall Islands, Gilbert Islands, Ellice Islands, Phoenix Islands, Tokelau Islands, Baker Island, Banaba Island, Howland Island, Nauru Island and Wake Island. It covers a considerable portion of the earth’s surface although most of it is ocean. Stretching over 27 degrees of latitude and 44 degrees of longitude there is great variation in climate. The Marianas and the western Carolines have moderate dry seasons and many typhoons, while Nauru and Banaba can have severe dry seasons. Micronesian geology can be divided into two basic types: volcanic and limestone. Lava and ash of basalt and andesite make up the volcanic material, while the limestone has been mostly derived from corals. The flora includes one endemic genus (Guamia) and about 392 endemic species and varieties, with some 313 of these confined to the Carolinas and 55 to the Marianas. The floral relationships are mostly Indo-Malesian and are particularly associated with the Melanesia-New Guinea area.

The following accounts for this BioProvince have been written or will be written with particular reference to endemic and locally important species. Accounts available are displayed in green or yellow. Those displayed in red are either in the pipeline or awaiting expert contributions.


Major Ecosystems
Endemic Flora Micronesia
Endemic Flora Marianas
Endemic Flora Guam
Endemic Flora Gilbert Islands
Endemic Flora Marshall Islands
Endemic Flora Caroline Islands
Endemic Flora Chuuk
Endemic Flora Palau
Endemic Flora Pohnpei
Endemic Flora Yap Islands
Bryophyte Flora
Fungus Flora
Lichen Flora
Invertebrate Fauna
Amphibian Fauna
Reptile Fauna
Bird Fauna
Mammal Fauna
Conservation Status