Papuan BioProvince

This BioProvince (as defined by Armen Takhtajan) includes New Guinea, the Aru Islands, Misool Island, Salawati, Weigeo, the Schouten Islands, the Trobriand Isands, Murua Island, the D’Entrecasteaux Islands and the Louisaide Archipeligo. The geology is very complex involving interaction between the Australian and Pacific tectonic plates. The monsoonal climate is characterised by high temperatures and humidity throughout the year and is affected by the northwest monsoon season from December to March and the southwest monsoon season from May to October.  The level of plant endemism is remarkable with many of the 1463 genera being endemic and at least 8500 of the 9000 indigenous species are endemic. Examples of endemic genera include Anakasia (Araliaceae), Archboldiodendron (Theaceae), Brassiantha (Celastraceae), Chlaenandra (Menispermaceae), Chlamydogramma (Tectariaceae), Crucicaryum (Boraginaceae), Decatoca (Epacridaceae), Distrianthes (Loranthaceae), Faika (Monimiaceae), Gjellerupia (Opiliaceae), Hartleya (Icacinaceae), Kairoa (Monimiaceae), Lauterbachia (Monimiaceae), Oxychlamys (Gesneriaceae), Papilionopsis (Fabaceae), Papuanthes (Loranthaceae), Paramyristica (Myristicaceae), Piora (Asteraceae), Pseudobotrys (Icacinaceae), Sepalosiphon (Orchidaceae), Sericolea (Elaeocarpaceae) and Xylonymus (Celastraceae). Despite its closeness to Australia, the flora is predominantly Indomalesian in character and only about 60 genera have Australian affinities.

The following accounts for this BioProvince have been written or will be written with particular reference to endemic and locally important species. Accounts available are displayed in green or yellow. Those displayed in red are either in the pipeline or awaiting expert contributions.


Major Ecosystems
Endemic Vascular Plant Flora
Bryophyte Flora
Fungus Flora
Lichen Flora
Invertebrate Fauna
Amphibian Fauna
Reptile Fauna
Bird Fauna
Mammal Fauna
Conservation Status